Legacy

I was talking with a friend recently – actually more like complaining than talking… I was venting about this and voicing my frustration about that… I tell myself that I will feel better after I get it all out… But generally that is not the case. And I started to wonder what kind of person my friend actually thinks I am.

With that thought stirring in my spirit, I continued on with my day. Later, while listening to Chris Tomlin’s song Surely Goodness, Love and Mercy, the Lord asked me to take note of the word “follow” in the lyrics. The chorus of the song says: surely goodness, love and mercy will follow me wherever I go. So why is the word follow there? That verse (and the song) is taken from the 23rd Psalm that we are all familiar with. The 6th verse says surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life…

But why the word ‘follow’? The rest of the Psalm speaks of God leading and providing and walking with me. But God doesn’t follow me, I follow Him…

And there it was, if I am close enough to the Lord, following His lead, accepting His provision, walking confidently through the tough times because I know He is with me…. Wouldn’t the Spirit be producing some fruit in my life?

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness and self control. If my days are spent walking with the Lord, then the legacy that I should be leaving in my wake is that of the working of the Spirit in my life.

Surely goodness, love and mercy will follow me wherever I go. Is that the legacy I am leaving? When I move on from this place in my life, will I be remembered for the mercy I showed others? For the love and goodness I poured out to those around me? Or will I be remembered as a person who was always discontent and miserable?

I have linked the song I was listening to so that you can listen for yourself. Note the word ‘follow’ and may it bless your day too.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kg7Kj0-Cd4i8

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kg7K0-Cd4i8

Leave a comment