Walk Humbly

I had a great conversation with a friend this morning about my kids. I described what I often tell the kids: these years (14-24) are the most important years for decision making that shapes the course of your life. I tell them that these years are like them going through a dark tunnel and it is my job as their mom to keep them on the tracks until they reach the other side. So, they might feel some push back, but it is only because they are about to fall off of the tracks and I am there to steady them and keep them on. They can’t see what is ahead, but I have been there. My perspective is different and since I love them more than life itself, I ask them to trust me to help them navigate through these important years.

After our conversation, I was taking my kids to the Lord in prayer. I prayed that they would be filled with a passion for the Lord and His purposes. That they would be merciful people and do good. I was reflecting on this “dark tunnel”, how they can’t see what is ahead, then the Lord said to me, “Aren’t you the same?” I realized that it was true. I can’t see what is ahead of me either. There is only One who loves me more than life itself and who knows what is ahead. He is asking that I also trust Him to guide me through the years ahead of me.

The Bible is full of direction when it comes to trusting God. He asks us to put Him first (Matt 6:33), to search for Him (Jer 29:13), and to trust Him with all of our heart (Prov 3:5-6). By doing so we will receive the things we need (Matt 6:33), find God (Jer 29:13) and receive direction for our steps (Prov 3:5-6). He led me to Micah. In chapter 7 vs 8b: “When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me.” I am in my own dark tunnel and I need Him to be my light. So what do I have to do? Just the chapter before (Mic 6:8), it reads: “And what does the Lord require of you, But to do justly, To love mercy, And to walk humbly with your God?”

Of course, in all of my interactions, I need to be just and show mercy. And isn’t is easy to stop there? I can be a good person. That’s enough. The enemy would love to have us believe that. But there was more. God requires that we walk with Him. How are we going to get the things we need, see the light, hear His voice or know which way to go unless we are in a close relationship with Him? He has a purpose for us that is so much greater than the mundane life we lead everyday. But there is no way to find it without His direction. There is no way to get His direction without being close to Him. This is a battle for our own minds and hearts that has to happen individually everyday. To purposefully choose to take the time to foster our relationship with God. I ended my prayer praying for myself, that I would be filled with a passion for the Lord and a desire to get closer to Him everyday. To make meeting with Him a priority and not to allow “our time” to be consumed by some distraction of the enemy. The laundry and the dishes will still be there when I am done. They can wait. He is more important.

 

Leave a Reply

