The Storm

It has always been my experience that as soon as I step out to do something for the Lord, I seem to suffer negative consequences. This week has been no exception. Not long ago I shared a part of my story and what God has done for me with a large crowd. This past week I have experienced issues with my health, my extended family have been affected and even my dog!

Sometimes I wonder if it is like those prophets and preachers of old that would go to a city to proclaim Christ and be dragged out and stoned for it. Now, my battle is not against flesh and blood though – it is definitely a spiritual assault. While I can feel the sting of the storm as it sprays in my face and the darkness can give the illusion of being alone, my feet are still firmly placed on the Rock. I couldn’t imagine walking through this without the peace and strength that comes from knowing Jesus. And I am so grateful that I don’t have to! God is bigger and more powerful than any storm that comes my way. And no matter what happens, the storm cannot move me from my Foundation. The fact that this happens at all makes me think that I must have done something right! Otherwise the enemy wouldn’t feel the need to bother me. So, I can also take refuge in that.

I am not sure that I would say I am joyful though as the following passage states:

“My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.”(James 1:2-4)
It is funny how I automatically think of “lacking nothing” as being wealthy. But worldly wealth runs out and does not automatically come with wisdom. However, having a firm and clear connection to God Almighty will grant me endless access to everything and anything I could possibly need, including power, wisdom, peace, strength and provision. It seems that in these storms I am more likely to access these things from my Heavenly Father. Perhaps if I were more proactive in the calm, I would experience less storms? Just a thought.
No matter where you are today, know that God is all you need. Reach for Him. Hold on tight. He is your anchor in the storm.
Leave a Reply

