The Mustard Seed

I spent some time praying with and for some wonderful women the other night. But it wasn’t long before I was overwhelmed by the idea that my prayers weren’t good enough. I remember those thoughts from before: I am not a good enough wife; I am not a good enough mother; I am not a good enough friend. And here I am with the words ringing in my ears: I am not a good enough Christian to be helping anyone. My prayers aren’t powerful; they aren’t eloquent; they aren’t very “fervent.” All I could do was give a little love and call on the name of Jesus.

While I was berated by these thoughts the Lord broke through. He reminded me of the mustard seed. You remember it from Matt 17:20 when Jesus tells them, “if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.” So then I say, “But God! What if my faith isn’t enough to move the mountain?” Then He said, it is not your faith (and the size of it) that moves the mountain. It is that little speck of faith that brings you to Me. I move the mountain!

When I am faithful to bring others to Jesus, it is Him who moves in them to heal and to deliver and to save. It is not my awesomeness that does it. It is His. I am only an extension of His hands and feet. I demonstrate His love, and He does the rest. Thank God! If peoples deliverance and salvation was dependent on me, we would all be in trouble! But it is not. I do not save. The Saviour saves. If I can do nothing other than cry out the name of Jesus,  I have still opened access to the Almighty God!

There is power in the name of Jesus. There is no more eloquent, powerful or fervent prayer than to simply call on His name.

 

 

Leave a Reply

