The Power of God

Written Mar 2015: I got a job once a long time ago that I thought was “the” job. It was the first job I ever had in my field, it paid well and promised to be a career that could potentially take me all the way to retirement. I was thrilled… until I actually started working there. It was the most horrible job I have ever had. Not the work, but the co-workers. I became a target early and was bullied every day. I prayed that God would intervene. I begged for a miracle. But after six months I had had enough. I quit. I felt so defeated. After leaving the job I moved to a different city and was unemployed for a year. But I still look back on that year as one of the best years of my life. I rested, volunteered, led Bible studies and taught Sunday School. It became the foundation for everything else that followed (at least the good parts). But what I had to go through to get there!
I was reading about Jesus entering Gergesenes where He cast the demons out of the two men into the swine (Matt 8:28-34). After performing this awesome miracle the whole city showed up and asked Him to leave! Why? Change. There is no way that we can encounter the power of the Almighty God and remain the same. Our world will never be the same. And that is scary. The people of Gergesenes realized that. The two men that were demon possessed (although not something they would advertise) were actually a fixture of the city. Now Jesus eliminated it. What more would He do? They dared not find out!
What about us? How often have we petitioned God for the things that we want, but at the same time kept Him at arms’ length lest the power of His presence require a change in us? How many times have we desperately been duct taping the little box that we live in and when we seem to be running out of tape, beg God for His help? “Please find me more tape, or restore this box!” But God is saying, “Get out of the box!” He doesn’t intervene. The box is not His will for us. And while our little box falls apart, we become afraid and angry, not willing to see what it is that God is leading us into.
I have been listening to a new-to-me Casting Crowns CD this week. One of their songs is called Just Be Held. The chorus is:
So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, its falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held
Perhaps things aren’t falling apart, but falling into place. Even Jesus experienced wind and waves, but because He knew the power of God, He was not afraid. He calmed them. When He went to the cross, He was not afraid. He rose. Matt 7:11 tells us that God wants to give us good things if we ask. So, if we are asking and He is not giving, perhaps it is not good? Perhaps it is time to put down the duct tape and look up. Maybe there is a sunrise that we are missing – a dawn of a new day. Will we step out in faith, or will we ask Him to leave?

Leave a Reply

