Dwelling in the Secret Place – 5

Written Nov 2012: Sometimes I really wonder, what is it that God wants from me anyway? I try to be good, I do what I think is right. But my efforts to “do” are often short lived and unproductive. I don’t have it in me to be what God wants me to be. Not in my own strength. Then there are those times when things just don’t seem to be going my way. Where is God then? Am I not still His child? Why does there seem to be only barren land around me and no blessing? I try and I try, but I do not seem to get anywhere. So, I have been reading through the Bible in pursuit of what it is that God is trying to tell me:
You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your might, Deut 6:5
And you shall remember that the Lord your God led you all the way these forty years in the wilderness, to humble you and test you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not. So He humbled you, allowed you to hunger, and fed you with manna which you did not know nor did your fathers know, that He might make you know that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every word that proceeds from the mouth of the Lord. Your garments did not wear out on you, nor did your foot swell these forty years. So you should know in your heart that as a man chastens his son, so the Lord your God chastens you. Therefore, you shall keep the commandments of the Lord your God, to walk in His ways and to fear Him. Deut 8:2-6
Beware that you do not forget the Lord your God by not keeping his commandments, his judgements, and his statutes which I command you today (Deut 8:11) When your heart is lifted up, and you forget the Lord your God who brought you out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage (Deut 8:14). Then you say in your heart, “My power and the might of my hand have gained me this wealth.” And you shall remember the Lord your God, for it is He who gives you the power to get wealth, that He might establish His covenant which He swore to your fathers, as it is this day. (Deut 8:17-18).
And now, Isreal, what does the Lord your God require of you, but to fear the Lord your God, to walk in all His ways and to love Him, to serve the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to keep the commandments of the Lord and His statutes which I command you today for your good? Deut 10:12-13)
For this commandment which I command you today, it is not too mysterious for you, not is it far off. But the word is very near you, in your mouth a d in your heart, that you may do it. (Deut 30: 11, 14)
I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live; that you may love the Lord your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for he is your life and the length of your days; and that you may dwell in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them. (Deut 30: 19-20)
I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt; open your mouth wide and I will fill it. Oh, that My people would listen to Me, That Isreal would walk in My ways! He would have fed them also with the finest of wheat; and with honey from the rock I would have satisfied you. (Ps 81:10, 13, 16).
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled. (Matt 5:6)
But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. (Matt 6:33)
Jesus said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets,” (Matt 22: 37-40)
So what does He want from me? To love the Lord your God, obey His voice and cling to Him. Everything else will fall into place if only I will do this. I don’t need to worry about my dirty house, or whether I should be pulling out my Tae Bo exercise DVD. Clinging to God and pursuing a passionate love relationship with Him is the most important thing. He said that He will fill me, and not just with the left-overs, but with the finest of wheat and honey. It is funny how I can be so easily distracted by all the other things of this life. And how so often they seem so much more important. But they aren’t. God is. He is the source of my strength and my breath. He is the one who allows me to succeed and who humbles me when necessary. He is the one who has protected me, even in the darkest times. He is the only One who can bless me. And He loves me!

Leave a Reply

